Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installing Scanner Drivers, sane help
post Aug 11 2003, 06:08 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,245

I'm rather new to linux, this is my first time trying to install a driver.

I'm running Debian that i downloaded a few days ago and I am trying to install a Plustek scanner. I've been following an install guide on the SANE sight and i'm up to compiling the scanner driver. When I run "make all" however, I get alot of warnings telling me things are already defined, and lists of include files from both /usr/src/linux/include/linux and /usr/include/asm

here are some examples:
The first warning I see ( first I see gcc -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes.... -D__KERNEL__ -I/usr/src/linux/include -I./h -I/.. -02 -DMODULE -DMODVERSIONS -include /usr/src/linux/include/linux/modsetver.h -c src/dac.c -o obj/dac.o )
In file included from /usr/src/linux/include/linux/resource.h:58
/usr/include/asm/resource.h:26: warning: 'RLIM_INFINITY' redefined
/usr/src/linux/include/linux/resource.h:40 warning: this is the location of the previous definition

This then continues with different files and things that are redefined. Later on the output starts looking more like:

/usr/include/asm/string.h:48 warning static declaration for 'strncpy' follows non-static

this continues with 'strcat', 'strncat', 'strncmp' and others.
in the end it says "make: *** [obj/dac.o] Error 1

Any ideas about how I can get this to compile right?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Aug 12 2003, 10:25 AM
Post #2

Group: Members
Member No.: 613

Please refer to the system requirements of the software. Does your box meet or exceed them?