Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sound Card, intel AC'97 sound card
Hemant
post Aug 11 2003, 05:05 PM
Post #1


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



hi all...
recently i have removed windows XP from my computer.and my computer is only a GNU/Linux machine...but i have a major problem my sound card(intel AC'97 on ICH4 bridge or also called Intel 82801DB AC'97 Audio controller) is not working.....
i have Redhat-8.0....
I am having same problem since a year so i have done lots of search on my part also..and found many solutions...
1.from intel website...
http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/linux/audio.htm
but i don't want to install beta release of kernel 2.6 .but still i
want some suggestion if it is safe to install beta release of 2.6.
2.commercial OSS drivers...
i tried the driver(evalution version) but i don't wanna pay...
3.Brightest option perhaps....
check out this link.....
http://www.princeton.edu/~nvachhar/random.html
but here again i don't have the kernel for which binaries are given at
site..so i have to apply the patch...now how to compile the
module???


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 11 2003, 05:31 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I am using the exact same type sound card built in on my tyan i860 board ....

try this from a command prompt:

modprobe i810_audio
ac97_codec


if you are recompiling your own kernel, make sure you have either (module or built into the kernel) support for the following under sound:

Sound Card Support
Intel ICH


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Aug 12 2003, 01:13 AM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



thanks...
but perhaps ur sound card uses ICH or ICH2 bridge....but if my guess is wrong i got errors when i tried first command:
#modprobe i810_audio
i will post then soon...
but i am not able to get the seocnd command can u explain that...
#ac97_codec
or this is a part of the first command itself....


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 07:17 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Yes ... mine uses the ICH2 bridge...but the soundcard is 82801DB AC'97

I meant modprobe ac97_codec ...

but if the first modprobe doesn't work the other won't ... it requires the first module to be loaded...

if you use the command:

modinfo i810_audio it will tell you all the options that you can add for the i810_audio module (in /etc/modules.conf). Maybe you can add your actual info about your soundcard from the command lspci using the options from modinfo....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Aug 16 2003, 09:11 PM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



yeah...i have tried
#modprobe ac97_codec
and the module got inserted correctly...but i have problems with i810_audio module...
i mean
#modprobe i810_audio
gives a lot of errors...
anyway may i know what is ur kernel version and GNU/linux version....
thanks...for lot of support...


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 17 2003, 08:08 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I am using RedHat 9.0 (current kernel is 2.4.20-18.9smp) on my Tyan i860 motherboard ... the lspci output concerning my audio is here:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82860 860 (Wombat) Chipset Host Bridge (MCH) (rev 04)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82850 850 (Tehama) Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 04)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82860 860 (Wombat) Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801BA/CA/DB PCI Bridge (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 04)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801BA IDE U100 (rev 04)
00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM USB (Hub #1) (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM SMBus (rev 04)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio (rev 04)

RedHat 9 detected the audio card in the installation process.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Aug 20 2003, 05:16 AM
Post #7


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



thanks for help....
but what abt installing kernel 2.6 ...the kernel is still in beta development..so will it be safe to install the kernel...

how abt compiling the i810_audio.c file with the patch provided on the site...

http://www.princeton.edu/~nvachhar/random.html

but i don't have a clue how i can compile i810_audio.c file without compiling the whole kernel....


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Aug 26 2003, 06:51 AM
Post #8


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



hi all of u ...i have solved the problem....
simply i upgraded to kernel 2.4.21


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 05:47 PM