Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Getting The Floppy (3 1/2") Working, help
tony_b54
post Aug 8 2003, 04:50 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 8-August 03
From: Illinois
Member No.: 1,234



sad.gif Have just gotten a computer from e-bay ,and can't get the A drive to work (floppy), and have gone into bio and put it as #1 with cd-rom #2 and c drive at # 3.....but the floppy doesn't even light up and at boot gives me the error 2080...need help please
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Aug 8 2003, 05:26 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



What kind of PC is it and do you know what kind of hardware is installed in it? If a name brand computer check their website for the error code. What kind of BIOS? It will say during the BIOS POST. Check their website for error codes.

There is an option in the BIOS to scan floppy drives on boot. Is it enabled.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Aug 8 2003, 05:28 PM
Post #3


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



At what point do you get the error. You say it's on the boot, it is on the bios boot, or the linux boot? if you dual os, is it on all the boots for the os?

Just trying to track down a couple of possibilities

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 8 2003, 07:28 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I don't even install floppies in my Linux machines ... unless I need to update the BIOS. You can probably boot any OS you want to install from the CDROM wink.gif

Obviously, open the machine ... check the power and cable to the floppy and the cable to the motherboard ... make sure the cable plug on the floppy end is the one beyond the TWIST...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 01:21 AM