Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie Sound Card Help Please, Sound Card Help
robbmcmahan
post Aug 8 2003, 11:59 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,230

I am a linux newbie and have a Maxi Sound 64 sound card and have not had luck with getting Mandrake 9.1 to make it work. After scouring the internet I have found out that there is a driver that will make it work. The driver is sam9407. I downloaded the source code but when I try to compile it I get all kinds of errors so I have been looking for an .rpm that has been compiled. The only one I found was made for the SuSe distro. Will that work on Mandrake? I thought it may and installed it but so far am still not having luck. Is there anything bad about installing a rpm that was made for a different distro? Should I uninstall that?

I did find a Kernnel rpm that says it has the sam9407 drivers built in if I understand it right but I'm not sure what it does. Does it rebuild the Kernnel of does it just add extra stuff?

kernel-multimedia-smp-2.4.21.0.18mdk-1-1mdk.rpm
the link is:
http://rpms.mandrakeclub.com/rpms/mandrake...-1mdk.i586.html

I also found this and again....i'm not sure what it does but it says it has support for the drivers. I did install this one but don't know what to do now?!?

alsa-driver-headers-0.9.0rc2-alt9.i586.rpm

Please excuse my ignorance but I am new to linux and still learning. Please help if you can....

Thanks..

Robb
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 9 2003, 12:35 PM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

The company that makes this card provides no support for Linux ... And if this is an ISA (not a PCI) card, I would go buy a soundblaster for $30.00 ( Here)