Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rh9 Installation Woes
mountain_bykr
post Aug 8 2003, 03:53 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-August 03
Member No.: 1,225



I'm new to Linux, as I am to this forum.
I downloaded the RedHat9 ISO's, burned them, set my computer to boot from CD.
The Linux Installation goes fine until it tries to load anaconda. Then my monitor is given a 23Hz signal, and that's it.
Changing the resolution doesn't help. Sometimes I get the same problem. Other times my computer locks up at the media check page.
System specs are AMD Athlon XP 2100+, Asus A7N8X Deluxe mobo, 512MB DDR RAM, Seagage 80GB S-ATA HDD, MSI GeForceFX5600 256MB vidcard.

Suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Aug 8 2003, 06:34 AM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Maybe some bad ISO's? Did you check the checksums and do the media check before the install?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mountain_bykr
post Aug 8 2003, 11:56 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-August 03
Member No.: 1,225



The few times the checker worked, it gave me the thumbs up. Is there another way to check checksums?

EDIT

Sorry, just found out about MD5Summer... the checksums match up. That's not the problem, I guess.

EDITx2

Other things that might make a difference:
a) I have a DV Monitor
cool.gif I tried a copy of RedHat8 (that I know is good) and it also locks up. Definitely a hardware issue, but what?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ctrunk514
post Aug 8 2003, 01:29 PM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 29-May 03
From: Denver, CO, USA
Member No.: 902



There is a way to load in non-GUI mode ... if you can get throught that it would rule out the video card and may point more toward the monitor.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 8 2003, 07:01 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Hey ... that's a nice PC!

Boot to the RedHat 9 install disk, Press F2 and then at that screen, try this:

linux noprobe acpi=off pci=noacpi apm=off

or

linux lowres acpi=off pci=noacpi apm=off

if all else fails ... you can do the text install:

linux text acpi=off pci=noacpi apm=off

If you go here and search for sata and A7N8X in the nForce Linux forum you will find lots of posts about the SATA hard drives ... do you have a regular IDE drive you can use till the SATA drivers get better?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 04:20 AM