Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Scripting To Correct Double Time On Hyper-threaded, scripting to correct double time
r3n0
post Aug 7 2003, 10:29 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,219

Hi All

Have a new dedicated server that is hyper-theard enabled, as a result the system time is running at double speed!!!

The providers are trying to sort this but mean time it's making my logs unusable.

Does anyone have an idea how I might use cron and date or anything else to reset the system time.

I was thingking of somehting like a cron.hourly that would make the system time = system time - one hour. But I have no knowledge of programming cron jobs and don't know where to start.

Any ideas greatly apprciated.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 7 2003, 11:10 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

what kernel are you using ... most 2.4.17 (or higher) SMP kernels should work fine with hyper-thread processors....

Here is some info:
http://www-106.ibm.com/developerworks/linu.../?ca=dgr-lnxw01

Is this a linux or a system bios issue? Can you go to the bios and let it set for 10-20 miuntes and see what happens with the BIOS time ?

This post has been edited by hughesjr: Aug 7 2003, 11:22 AM

--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 7 2003, 11:13 AM
Post #3

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151