Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help!, I installed RedHatLinux 9 wrong
Bagel
post Aug 6 2003, 09:36 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-August 03
Member No.: 1,214



I was installing red hat 9 and i was answering all the questions for setup and when i reached the last 2 questions I rushed through them because it was taking so long. any way i think i ansered the last 2 wrongly and now my display dosent work properly, it sends me to text commands (like ms-dos) and i don't know how to change the answers to the last two questions to the right things,
someone plz help me
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 6 2003, 09:56 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



log in as root ...

after logining in, type the following command:

startx

and see if your graphical interface comes up ... if not, post the error information from your file at:

/var/log/XFree86.0.log


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bagel
post Aug 6 2003, 11:04 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-August 03
Member No.: 1,214



when i try to access startx it trys to load into a menu or something and becuase I answerd the Q wrong it won't load
when i try to access the log file it says this,
-bash: /var/log/XFree86.0.log: Permission denied


also i decided to copy down the origanal error it tells me
Xfree86 Version 4.3.0 (Red Hat Linux release: 4.3.0-2)
Release Date: 27 February 2003
X protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.4.20-3bigmem i686 [ELF]
Buil Date: 27 February 2003
Build Host: porky.devel.redhat.com

Before reporting problems, check http://ww.Xfree86.Org/
To make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
OS Kernal: Linux Version 2.4.20-6 (bhcompile@stripples.devel.redhat.com)
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting, (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational, (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: :/var/log/Xfree86.0.log”, Time: Thu Aug 7 11:48:25 2003
(==) Using config file: “/etc/X11/XF86Config”
(EE) xf86OpenSerial: Cannot open device /dev/atibm
No such device
(EE) Mouse0: cannot open input device
(EE) PreInit failed for imput device “Mouse0”
No core pointer

Fatal server error:
Failed to initialize core devices

and another thing would it be a differnt commands if it was a laptop (which it is) ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 6 2003, 11:43 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



QUOTE
(EE) xf86OpenSerial: Cannot open device /dev/atibm
No such device
(EE) Mouse0: cannot open input device
(EE) PreInit failed for imput device “Mouse0”
No core pointer


ok, your video device (ie, the video card) is not the right device....and you have no mouse.....

you can try this to get a working ... but probably not very optimized ... GUI.

You must do this as the root user .....

First, copy the current XF86Config file to a backup using this command:

cp /etc/X11/XF86Config /etc/X11/XF86Config.original

Then, make a very generic XF86Config file like this ....

cd /root
XFree86 -configure


Then, copy the new XF86Config file to the /etc/X11 directory....

cp /root/XF86Config.new /etc/X11/XF86Config

Then try startx again and see if it works.....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bagel
post Aug 6 2003, 11:58 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-August 03
Member No.: 1,214



localhost login: Root
Password:
...
..(crap)
[root@localhost root]# cp/etc/X11/XF86Config/etc/X11/XF86Config.original
-bash: cp /etc/X11/XF86Config /etc/X11/XF86Config.original: No such file or directory
but then I realized that mabye u wanted me to typ it in with the spaces...
and i got this
[root@localhost root]# cp /etc/X11/XF86Config /etc/X11/XF86Config.original
ccp: cannot stat '/etc/x11/xf86config' : No such file or directory

and i tink the mouse prob is becuz its a laptop and i didn't set it up properly
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 7 2003, 12:26 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



QUOTE
ccp: cannot stat '/etc/x11/xf86config' : No such file or directory


The above line means that you used lower case letters ..... in Linux, the filenames are case sensitive ... try it again using the exact case (and spaces)....i'll try to make it easier to see:

CODE
cp /etc/X11/XF86Config /etc/X11/XF86Config.original


CODE
cd /root
XFree86 -configure


CODE
cp /root/XF86Config.new /etc/X11/XF86Config


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_donut
post Aug 7 2003, 12:56 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 7-August 03
Member No.: 1,216



Ugh, Bagel, some general questions:
First, who's laptop are you using? Is it at mom's? Can you bring it down to me tomorrow morning?

Second, is this part of your school thing? Do you _have_ to use Red Hat?

I have the Mandrake CD's at home, and have _much_ more exp working with it. Much simpler, IMO, and I think that's what you need.

Lastly, the _first_ thing that came to mind... Why the hell are you installing Linux? You can barely keep Win2k STABLE. Then again...

Since you have already started with Red Hat, you _may_ want to continue using it, good exp. The peeps on this BBS seem to be helping you, although I do think you need to try something a little simpler, as this is a little over your head. I'll have the Mandrake CDs for you, just in case.

You could lend me the laptop for a day or two, and I could get it running biggrin.gif

PS> Sorry if my tone with Bagel seems a little...different. Brotherly..uh..love?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 01:12 PM