Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Click Click Whrrr..., The system has slowed down
Dman
post Aug 5 2003, 02:50 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,202

Hello all,
I'm quite new to Linux, but I installed Mandrake Linux 9 on my system. I have a 120GB HD, and created an 80GB partition for Windows, and a 40GB partition for Linux (formatted in journalised ext). However, though the system recognises my graphics card, everything runs really slowly. Tux Racer goes at a single figure framerate. This is not to be expected of on my Athlon 2100+, Geforce 3, 768MB RAM system. Can anyone offer anything to help me?
Also, when I was installing I didnt create a 'swap partition', having no idea what one is anyway. Is that what is causing the slowdown?
All help appreciated.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 5 2003, 11:34 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

The TuxRacer ... and probably any other graphics framerate issues are due to the graphics driver. Since you have an Nvidia card, you need to install the latest Linux drivers for Nvidia cards, which includes open glx and accelerated xv drivers.

In order to do the install, you will need the Kernel Source for your kernel (kernel-source-2.x.x-xmdk.i586.rpm, substitute your kernel version ... so if you have kernel 2.4.20-6 then you would install kernel-source-2.4.20-6mdk.i586.rpm). First see if you already have the kernel source installed ... do the command:

rpm -qa | grep kernel

if you don't have the proper kernel source installed, install it using urpmi, drakerpm, or whatever you normally use to install packages....

list the directories in /usr/src by using the following command:

ls -al /usr/src/