Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Second Stage Install Help !
TequilaSunrise
post Jul 28 2003, 06:41 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 28-July 03
Member No.: 1,167



hi guys/girls.Ok i was willing to install Linux Mandrake 9.1, I insert my mandrake CD1 , reboot my pc, Linux setup loads. No problems there. I choose the Install option, it says Loading Program in memory, then after that , it goes to DOS (Or whatever it actually is, it looks like dos) and says, Second Stage install. It loads, then a whole lot of lines come up very quickely then my screen turns black and nothing happens, when i press ENTER my cdrom drive makes noize(Trying to read something i think).Ive tried to read a little of those lines and in between all other wierd lines i saw a warning, something about cannot load patch-oem.pl i think this doenst have anyting to do with it. BTW I have to restart my pc after that black screen coz nothing happens.

If you need more information please tell me in this forum.
PS. I downloaded my version of Mandrake 9.1 from the Mandrake FTPS.

Ive asked this in 2 other forums(this one looks like a better one though tongue.gif) but they dont reply, one replied and said it could be my system searching for Xfree86 and not finding it.


PIII 500 Mhz
128 MB ram
Maxtor 7200 40 GIG
Voodoo 3

Thanks in advance and peace out Unixerz tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 28 2003, 08:13 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Might be a bad download. You can verify with md5sum program and compare it with the one from the FTP site.

Try changing consoles when this happens i.e. alt f2-f5 and see if there are any other errors displayed.

It could be a compatablity issue with your graphics card but it shouldn't be with a voodoo card. Try installing in text mode.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jul 29 2003, 07:24 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If the media is good ....

If you press F1 instead of enter, you can do some other choices.

after you get to the selection screen, you can type:

vgalo (and then press enter)
for a low resolution vga install (I would try this first).

text (and then press enter)
for a text install ... I have done this before, but the vgalo would be a better option if it works ... it's more user friendly.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 02:04 PM