Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ssh Questions, slow start
echeng66
post Jul 19 2003, 11:53 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 2-June 03
Member No.: 913



I have two linux machines running Mandrake 9.1. When I ssh into it, it prompts me for password instantly and after verifying the password, the message from /etc/motd comes
up right away but then I have to wait 25-30 secs for the command promopt to show up.
Any ideas? Thanks.

Ed
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 22 2003, 06:30 AM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



What are the specs on the machines?

Are they running firewalls?

Are they on a local network?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
echeng66
post Jul 23 2003, 08:18 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 2-June 03
Member No.: 913



The first machine is
| Pentium 4 2.66 Gz with 1G of RAM
| and 80G of storage
|
| The operating system:
| Mandrake Linux release 9.1 (Bamboo) for i586
| Kernel 2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise on an i686

The second machine is
| Pentium III 1.1 Gz with 128M of RAM
| and 20G of storage
|
| The operating system:
| Mandrake Linux release 9.1 (Bamboo) for
| i586 Kernel 2.4.21-0.13mdk on an i686

The first machine is behind a firewall from our site. The second one has its own firewall.
Both machines are on a local network.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JRandomHacker
post Aug 10 2003, 10:24 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,243



Hello,

I had the same problem. It appears to be the way that the SSH Daemon resolves hostnames connecting to it. My first question would be: Are your boxes using DCHP to get IP addresses? Whether you are or not, be sure that in the /etc/hosts of the machine you are SSH-ing into you have the IP address and hostname of the *connecting host*. As an example:

SSH Client (192.168.0.2) ssh===> SSH Server (192.169.0.3)

Then on the server box's /etc/hosts:
192.168.0.2 sshclient.mydomain.com ; or whatever the client's hostname is.

Restarting the SSH daemon on the server would be a good idea at this point as well.

If you are using DHCP then just put in a bunch of lines in /etc/hosts that cover your IP range:

192.168.0.3 sshclient3.mydomain.com
192.168.0.4 sshclient4.mydomain.com
192.168.0.5 sshclient5.mydomain.com
etc.....

Hope this helps!


--------------------
J. Random
Domain Administrator
JANDE Computing, LLC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 10:01 AM