Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Logging To My Computer Via Ssh
Xoreaxeax
post Jul 17 2003, 01:00 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-July 03
Member No.: 1,117



Hello, I'm trying to log through my computer via ssh when using another computer ..

However, even though I can log with ssh when I'm on the same computer, I don't know how to log on this computer with another one. Must I specify a unique IP which I will log onto or a domain name .. ?

Also, I plan on starting my own ftp ..

Is that possible with ssh alone ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 17 2003, 01:06 PM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You need to specify either an IP or hostname.

For example:

ssh -l username hostname/ip

ssh -l joey mybox.example.com

ssh -l joey 216.138.195.197

SSH is not really an FTP server. You can use SCP (secure copy) to move files back and forth but I don't think that's what you are looking for.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xoreaxeax
post Jul 17 2003, 09:53 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-July 03
Member No.: 1,117



I knew that ..
I often use ssh to log on other computers ...

but I want to start a server on my computer so I can log onto it....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xoreaxeax
post Jul 17 2003, 09:55 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-July 03
Member No.: 1,117



specifications ...

I named my computer xor.masamune.net ...

I'd like to publish that name or IP on the web so I can log onto it elsewhere ..!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Jul 18 2003, 02:04 PM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



then you just use ssh....
why do you need to publish the name on the net if you already know it


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xoreaxeax
post Jul 18 2003, 03:05 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-July 03
Member No.: 1,117



But if somebody else has taken the IP used for my computer ..

for instance, I use the ip 127.53.76.230 for my computer...

I have logged on an other computer using ssh ..

from that computer I'm trying to relog on my computer using the following command

ssh -l username 127.53.76.230 ....

It seems to search for the corresponding computer but finds nothing ...

what do I do ???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 18 2003, 03:50 PM
Post #7


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You wont be able to get in that way since 127 is a local address, it wont resolve on the net.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xoreaxeax
post Jul 18 2003, 06:19 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-July 03
Member No.: 1,117



then may I know what ranges of IP I can use on the net ...??????????????????????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 18 2003, 09:30 PM
Post #9


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You can't just up and pick an IP you have to use whatever your ISP has given you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xoreaxeax
post Jul 18 2003, 09:56 PM
Post #10


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-July 03
Member No.: 1,117



I had already found that answer from that point ...

but I still have question ..

is it possible to log on my account using ftp
such as ftp://username@IPaddress

Also, how can I log with ssh using my computer name ..
instead of ssh username@IPaddress ==> ssh username@localhost.localdomain ...??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Jul 18 2003, 10:10 PM
Post #11


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



how do you connect to the internet...
through a router?
do you have a static ip address or dhcp for your router...

if you have a router...which since you are using a 127. ip range address
then you need to either use the ip assigned to you by your isp
or buy a domain and the set the domain to point to your ip address
using dns...else if you have a dynamic ip address you need to
find a service that provides dynamic ip assigning to your domain...
then you need to forward port 22 to which ever computer you want
to connect to and the ip address of that computer in the router....


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xoreaxeax
post Jul 19 2003, 09:47 AM
Post #12


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-July 03
Member No.: 1,117



I connect using a modem, so it's a dynamic ip ...

still, that doesn't tell me if it's possible to start a ftp ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Jul 19 2003, 11:22 AM
Post #13


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



what kind of modem do you have
what kind of connection do you have
are you behind a router or some type of firewall

this way i can give you a better answer


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xoreaxeax
post Jul 20 2003, 01:04 PM
Post #14


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-July 03
Member No.: 1,117



it's an old Rockwell v.34 pnp , 28.8 kbps
nothing fancy ...

simple tone dialup connection

I don't use any routing nor firewalls (though setting up my firewalls could be a good idea)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caledonia
post Jul 20 2003, 01:11 PM
Post #15


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-July 03
Member No.: 1,128



you can use sftp to transfer files in a secure manner


e.g. sftp w.x.y.z

you will then be prompted for your password
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 05:38 PM