Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Resolution Problems Under Gnome / Mandrake 9.1, Screen Resolution
kingpaco
post Jul 16 2003, 12:48 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-July 03
Member No.: 1,111



Hey Guys,
I installed a copy of Mandrake 9.1 today and after playing with it for a while I chose to have a look at my GNOME and play with it a little, I wasn't getting everything in the screen so I changed the resolution to 1024X768 and it asked me to log off and back in ,.. after I did this my screen just went black. I restarted my machine and I still can't see a thing when I choose Linux,.. ( windoze still works)

Any way to change the resolution back to what it was before without being able to see a thing on the screen?

Thanks a lot guys any help is greatly appreciated, and keep in mind I'm new to the whole penguin world so try to explain in bill gate terms. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jul 16 2003, 07:19 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Sounds like you switched to a resolution that wasn't supported by your monitor, so it gave you the black screen. When you get that black screen, try pressing Ctrl+Alt+Backspace, which should kill the X-server and bring you back to your console. From there, you can log in as root and edit your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file and remove the reference to "1024x768" in the Screens section.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kingpaco
post Jul 16 2003, 11:50 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-July 03
Member No.: 1,111



Duende Thanks a lot for your help,

I managed to get to the console,. changed directories to X11 and saw the file I have to edit , however I could not figure out how to edit it. Tried the help command but I couldn't see what I was looking for.

Could you please tell me what command line I have to use to edit xf86Config-4 ?

Thank you man,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 16 2003, 11:52 AM
Post #4


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



It depends on which editors you have installed on your system.

You can try:

pico filename

or

vi filename
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:16 AM