Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Networking Under Linux, Having some problems with my NIC
splinter
post Jul 8 2003, 07:42 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 8-July 03
Member No.: 1,065



Hi. I've looked over the net, and I'm really stuck. I use a network to access the internet, but I cannot get networking under Linux to work. I don't know if my NIC has been installed and I don't know how to check. I have a 3Com Etherlink III 3c509 ISA card. I am aware of the netconfig command that can be used, and setting the settings to exactly how they should be I still can't seem to get my 2 computers to talk. I am quite sure the problem is that the NIC has not been installed - and if that is so, how do i go about installing it? Help would be very much apreciated :) thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 8 2003, 07:53 AM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



try using ifconfig
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jul 8 2003, 08:22 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



try running "lsmod" as root and check to see if you see the "3c509" module in the list of modules that are displayed. If it is not there, then as root, run "modprobe -v 3c509". If it says that it cannot find that module then either it is compiled straight into the kernel (run "dmesg" and have a look through the output) or you do not have the proper driver for your card.

Once you determine the status of the network driver, you can use the "ifconfig" command to setup your ip address, netmask, gateway, etc.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
splinter
post Jul 8 2003, 10:11 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 8-July 03
Member No.: 1,065



Hi, yeah i tried all those things and the card does appear to be in place.. lol i think anyway. I'm running SUSE linux. And in the shell window command thing, when i type ifconfig, it doesn't let me configure the settings it simply shows the settings that are already in place. How do i alter them? lol
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 8 2003, 10:14 AM
Post #5


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Try:

ifconfig device IP

an example:

ifconfig eth0 10.10.10.10

See the ifconfig man page for more info
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
splinter
post Jul 9 2003, 09:47 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 8-July 03
Member No.: 1,065



yeah but how do i choose the device number hting for it? It has from 0-9 and i don't know which to use.. or doesn't it matter?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 9 2003, 09:51 AM
Post #7


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



If you only have one ethernet card in the machine it is likely eth0.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 06:52 PM