Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dns Setup On Debian, Help need configuring Bind
Spunc
post Jul 3 2003, 02:02 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 3-July 03
Member No.: 1,046



Hi all,
I 've been trying for weeks now to setup my new linux box to host a small site as well as mail for that site. I installed the system via the net so the installer configured my network using DHCP. So far so good. However I wasn't given the option to enter a domain name forthe maching (If I were giving that opitunity I wouls of enterd my "Registered" mydomain.com.....I found Joey has a nice manual on congiuring bind so I followed it although only used the "yourdomain.com.zone and the 1.1.10.addr-apa.zone file as well as editing the default installed version of named.conf adding the two new zones how ever it still isn't working I suspect that it's because the system dosn't know what it's domain name shout be .I'm not sure.hence the reason for this post .I'm pretty new to this Linux thing although I running low on coffee and suffering from may sleeples nights . Can anyone help ? sad.gif sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 4 2003, 04:05 PM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



does debian have the hostname command? If so run:

hostname yourhostnamehere

tourettes is a debian guy, perhaps he can give you a hand with this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 06:42 PM