Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newb Problem Installing Slackware 8.1
Iznogood
post Jul 1 2003, 06:26 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-July 03
Member No.: 1,036



Hello, i wanted to start with saying that Im pretty much a ms fool (since 1990), but a week ago i got tired of defragmentating/scandisk'ing/reinstalling/formatting/smashingmykeyboardintopieces just to get some work done on windows. Thats when I decided to get linux.

I have tried a lot this week to get slackware installed but it keeps giving me errors, now ive had my bit of "trial and error" wich brought me to the point where the setup said :

" Your source device cannot be accessed properly.
Please be sure that it is mounted on /var/log/mount/slakware
and that the slackware disks are found in the sub-directories of /var/log/mount/slakware. "

After I press enter it also says 5 times :

*some dirs*/setup : cannot create mnt/etc/fstab: directory nonexistent

I know it has to do something with the last but I really cant figure it out, so maybe u guys could help me?
I will try to explain everything i know :


Ive made an ext2 and a swap partition, my ext2 partition is primary and between fat32 C: and D: and the swap is after D:

Ive downloaded the files - loadlin.exe, color.gz and bzimage from bare.i ( or no_kdb.i, i dont remember tho )
then i go to dos and type

c:>loadlin bzimage rw root=/dev/ram initrd=color.gz load_ramdisk=1

everything goes well, then most of the time I try to mount my cdrom and my linux partition incase it goes wrong

I try to mount my linux partition by typing
# mount -t ext2 /dev/hda3 /mnt
this seems to work allright but I actually dont have a clue if it worked

but when I try to mount my cdrom in a lot of different ways, it keeps saying "mount point ... does not exist"
I tried stuff like
# mount -t iso9660 -o ro /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom
# mount -t iso9660 -o ro /dev/cdrom /cdrom
# mount /mnt/cdrom
and all kind of stuff I found in the book on slackware.org

Now Im pretty sure mounting my cdrom and linux partition isn't the answer since the setup does this already, My wildest guess that its a newb problem having to do with me forgetting something, i just cant figure it out why the fstab does not exist or doesnt work, or should i make the fstab myself?

I dont know what more I have to add but im 100% sure my pII can run linux

I really hope u guys could help me smile.gif
(btw my explorer has crashed 4 times while i was writing this in notepad...) ph34r.gif

p.s. rtfm will do if its to stupid... unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Iznogood
post Jul 2 2003, 06:13 AM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-July 03
Member No.: 1,036



please? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rooster
post Jul 2 2003, 07:17 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 1-July 03
Member No.: 1,032



If you want to start learning Linux without the hassle, and have some user friendliness, get RedHat.

If you really think you're tough enough, get Debian, it's great to learn on.

If you dont really want to learn Linux through and through but would like an excellent work environment, get SuSe (latest version is 8.2) and it's very very nice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post Jul 4 2003, 04:39 PM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



I'm not sure whenabouts the /dev/cdrom pointer is created, but my guess is that it's not created yet. In order to get an idea of what the device is called, you need to what ide cable the drive is on and whether it is master or slave. IDE 1 - master is hda, IDE 1 - slave is hdb, IDE 2 - master is hdc, and IDE 2 - slave is hdd. You might try that. After you find that out try this:

mount -t iso9660 /dev/hdc /var/log/mount/slakware

assuming that your cdrom is hdc ( it pretty commonly is if you don't have a second hard drive).

Hope this helps a little.


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 04:50 PM