Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Just Lost Internet Access For No Apparent Reason, Just learning Linux, must be simple.
mondoweb
post Jun 29 2003, 10:40 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-June 03
Member No.: 1,025



Hello Linux Helpers,

First off I have to say that the people answering these questions are really great. I appreciate their time and commitment answering these questions. I am very happy to be learning Linux and to be apart of this exciting revolution in computing. I will try to detail this problem, I'm sure its simple.

Running RH8 on a Gateway PIII400. I had the easiest installation and everything was immediately up and running including the Internet access provided by the broadband fed router/gateway box (Netgear mr314). I am only learning and I suspect I changed something while playing with the settings. Whatever it was that changed, the access to internet Via web browser,via email and grip's cddb is gone. *poof"*

I still have Internet access from all the other machines coming from the router, I have access and from to the problem machine via NFS connection and via http and ftp using the server name (ie. http:\servername) within the network.

What might I have changed that had this drastic effect? The error the browser gives is "www.google.com could not be found. Please check the address and try again."

Thanks in advance,

Joseph Darling
MondoWeb
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcav
post Jun 29 2003, 11:21 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 13-June 03
From: IA
Member No.: 960



Not really a pro here, but did you set an ip adress after install? If your running it through a router with nat, and you set an ip outside those set thru the router, it won't allow you access. Also, did you set up any type of firewall? That can also block access. Like I said, not a linux pro, but those would be my first guesses to check. Hope that helps. smile.gif


--------------------
Celeron 1.8
PCChips M920LR
512mb PC 2700
GeForce 2 MX 400
Soundblaster Live! 5.1
Maxtor Quantum Fireball 20gig
DRT 24x10x40
Sony 52x Cd-rom
5 80mm Case Fans
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
giblet
post Jun 30 2003, 08:01 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 8-June 03
Member No.: 941



It could also be a DNS problem... try some ping commands, both with text addresses (eg ping www.goggle.com) and ip addresses (216.239.39.99 for google)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mondoweb
post Jul 1 2003, 06:33 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-June 03
Member No.: 1,025



QUOTE (Jcav @ Jun 29 2003, 11:21 PM)
Not really a pro here, but did you set an ip adress after install? If your running it through a router with nat, and you set an ip outside those set thru the router, it won't allow you access. Also, did you set up any type of firewall? That can also block access. Like I said, not a linux pro, but those would be my first guesses to check. Hope that helps. smile.gif

thanks Jcav, no firewall and yes nat. All was working well after install so I will look for a changed IP address? Can you be more specific?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mondoweb
post Jul 1 2003, 06:39 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-June 03
Member No.: 1,025



QUOTE (giblet @ Jun 30 2003, 08:01 AM)
It could also be a DNS problem... try some ping commands, both with text addresses (eg ping www.goggle.com) and ip addresses (216.239.39.99 for google)

giblet,

You might be on to something... Pinging the IP address seems to work, while the domain does not. What does this mean?

Thanks Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcav
post Jul 1 2003, 07:00 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 13-June 03
From: IA
Member No.: 960



For the ip, in console type "ip -s addr" and see what your ip is set too. Then log into your router and see what the dchp is set to (what ip's are allowed). You should also have a dchp table. Look and see what comps are on it. If yours is, the problem is not with your comp setup. If it's a dns problem, I can't help you there. I'm still fairly new to linux. Hope I helped some.


--------------------
Celeron 1.8
PCChips M920LR
512mb PC 2700
GeForce 2 MX 400
Soundblaster Live! 5.1
Maxtor Quantum Fireball 20gig
DRT 24x10x40
Sony 52x Cd-rom
5 80mm Case Fans
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcav
post Jul 1 2003, 07:56 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 13-June 03
From: IA
Member No.: 960



I don't know for sure if this will work, but you can give it a try. First, in console type "nslookup", then type "www.google.com". If you can't get the ip adress stated earlier, open a new console or just type exitand type (I think you have to be root) '/etc/rc.d/init.d/named start'. Hopefully that will take care of it. Do you know it bind is installed? The only way I know of checking is to type 'whereis bind'. That's all the ideas I have, hope something works out for you. wink.gif


--------------------
Celeron 1.8
PCChips M920LR
512mb PC 2700
GeForce 2 MX 400
Soundblaster Live! 5.1
Maxtor Quantum Fireball 20gig
DRT 24x10x40
Sony 52x Cd-rom
5 80mm Case Fans
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
giblet
post Jul 3 2003, 06:17 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 8-June 03
Member No.: 941



Do you have dns entries in /etc/resolv.conf

Mine contains the following:

nameserver 61.9.128.16
nameserver 61.9.128.13

(these are my primary and backup dns servers for my isp. Your isp should be able to provide you with the correct ip addresses for your primary and backup dns servers)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 4 2003, 04:16 PM
Post #9


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Everytime I use mplayer or gmplayer in linux it kills my internet connection. I guess linux wasnt meant for porn wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 11:55 PM