Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cant Install Any Rpm's..., should i reinstall linux rh9?
warheros
post Jun 24 2003, 02:32 AM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



ive been messing around with rh9 for a few months now, and ive always had this problem with rpm's. they never want to install or install right. i think out of the many ive tried, only one rpm has actually installed correctly.

the thing that i have to do when i want to install something now is to compile it from its tarball.

me and an associate, have concluded that i should reinstall rh9, is this the only thing that can fix this?

the problem may have occured when i had to install rh9 from only the first two discs, as the third always failed its "being able to work" test when you first install linux. i had to install about seven times, guessing and checking what packages i could install without using the third disc.

any suggestions?

could i possibly install what i could be missing (that makes rpm's not install/work) from a disc 3 that actually works? who knows?!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 24 2003, 08:16 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



what errors do you receive when you go to install the rpms? Have you attempted to install an rpm from the command line with "rpm -Uvh filename.rpm" ?


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warheros
post Jun 24 2003, 05:36 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



i get no error, on either methods (double-clicking or rpm -ivh /path/file.rpm)

thread on a problem like mind.

my problem posted at linuxquestions.org
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th October 2017 - 07:16 PM