Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> One Step Closer To Gtk, Hooah
LinuxHatesMe
post Jun 23 2003, 04:39 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 996



Ok I finally was able to determine that pango was missing a devel package that I installed from mandrakes package installer. After doing this, those pango ./configure errors vanished and I was able to install it. Now on to the last dependancy.. YES!!!!... atk 1.2

./configure - Seams fine I get no errors
make - same thing, no errors
make check - I always do this to double check... oddly, it doesn't say any tests fail OR pass. Also seams short and incomplete in a way. Moving on.
make install - Seams quick, short lived and odd. "was that it?" I guess so, so I move on.

Ok now I goto install gtk 2.2 MY GOAL, because finally it seams I have all the dependancy problems filled. So I goto ./configure and what do I say... my favorite error message BUT this time it says atk 1.2 isn't installed. OMG. No errors or nothing just a seamingly short install and it doesn't work. I tried redownloading but nope. Any clues guys? I'm really stuck now because at least before I was getting error messages.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinuxHatesMe
post Jun 23 2003, 09:44 PM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 996



Anybody?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 24 2003, 08:20 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Mayne gtk is looking in the wrong place for your atk install.

Run make install on atk again, and observe where it is installing it to. Run ldconfig as root.

In the gtk source directory, run "./configure --help" and have a look at command line options for atk, sometimes you are able to explicitly set the location of several configure options, do this. By rights, it should work automatically, but sometimes you just have th epoint the script in the right direction.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinuxHatesMe
post Jun 24 2003, 09:39 AM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 996



Sounds simple enough, and I appreciate a very informitive response. Only one problem. Where SHOULD it be installing atk to? And why? I'm gonna check where it's installing it too via that command and check the help file a bit more thouroughly. Thanx.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 11:32 PM