Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake 9.1 & Audio Cd's, Mandrake no longer recognize audio CD's
Thilo
post Jun 22 2003, 04:33 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 22-June 03
Member No.: 1,002



After installing Mandrake 9.1, I merrily opened XMMS and loaded up the tracks on an audio CD. No problem.
After rebooting, Mandrake could no longer read the tracks of the audio CD. Not from XMMS or via file explorers.

Any ideas on how to fix this?

Regards,
Thilo
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinuxHatesMe
post Jun 22 2003, 04:49 PM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 996



Did you try ejecting the cd and putting it back in? Perhaps mandrake isn't set to auto mount on startup but will mount when a cd is loaded into the tray.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 22 2003, 04:53 PM
Post #3


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Hiya.

It "sounds" like (i'm no expert) but it like your CD drive isn't mounted . . .

It's interesting . . . but was the CD in the drive on boot up? There mite be something with your distro that mounts the drive when you insert a CD in fresh . . . therefore a kinda bug when you leave a CD and switch off.

Failing that try "mount /dev/mnt/CD" or something like that. . . .

Failing that you could load up /etc/fstab and see if you can see what it's supposed to be. You might have to be root (su in rh) to do this.

You might have a mount CD icon on your desktop, in which case, hit that.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 22 2003, 05:02 PM
Post #4


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Opps, couple of mistakes on my last post (just in case you've read it, i'll repost instead of edit)

"mount /dev/cd0"

I'm not 100% sure though.

I reckon it'll be either of the first suggestion (boot up) and the last (icon on your desktop).

If it was working before and you havn't changed anything then theres no reason for it to stop working soft/hardware wise.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 22 2003, 09:57 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



You can't mount audio CD's. Can you play the CD with Kcd?

Not familar with the latest version of xmms but if you select play file then select your CDROM device and then play.

BTW There is a filesystem called cdfs that will let you mount audio CD's. You need to add support to your kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 23 2003, 03:45 AM
Post #6


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Hay Thilo,

Can you let us know if we've helped you at all on this, i'm starting to write a PAQ's page, so if you've got the solution it would be great if you could let me know.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 02:57 PM