Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Lag?
LinuxHatesMe
post Jun 22 2003, 01:11 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 996



I tried using mozilla today since the flash plugin will only work with it and not Konquerer although I've grown extremely fond of Konqurer and can't imagine even using IE or Netscape again. And I'm noticing the EXTREME amount of laggyness. I can't imagine it's lagging because of my system. XP uses ALOT more recources than linux that I've noticed. Could this be the case if my video drivers wern't installed or are working correctly? I've been feeling that they may not have been for some reason although I did everything the install file said. I used the nvidia graphical installer, changed the info in XFConfig-4 or whatever the file was. I remember seeing a thread about someone else having problems with nvidia graphics on linux but don't remember what it was about. Perhaps nvidia and linux don't go together that well? Although I thought geforce graphics cards were supposed to be the best compatible cards for linux. Anyways, how do I go about double checking my video drivers making sure they work as SHOULD be? I know they are activated, that lame NVIDIA splash screen pops up when I load x up. But I don't feel as they are getting there full juice out of them. EIther that or does Mozilla just hog every AVAILBLE recource left on your computer? LOL. If so I guess IE has a challenger.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 22 2003, 02:16 PM
Post #2


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



When you say lag, do you mean your browser laggs or you system, BIG difference!

2ndly, the only reason your graphics mite be wrong and cause your system to go laggy is if you set your system to 'software render' the graphics i.e. you proc(essor) manages the graphics instead of your graphics card (g/c).

But I don't know how you would do this, even if you wanted to!

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinuxHatesMe
post Jun 22 2003, 03:00 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 996



Clarification: I mean the system lags, IE: browser loads slower, menus take longer to pop down, cursor lags. Whole kittle kaboot. If my system is set to software rendering, yes I agree that would definately do it, and unless this is done by default I DIDN"T DO IT!! Is there an info section specificaly for my video settings to check whether or not this is the case?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 22 2003, 04:20 PM
Post #4


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



No idea. Someone else will though.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 12:28 AM