Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> No Sound, when i play cd's...
warheros
post Jun 21 2003, 04:36 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



yea so i play a cd through rh9, it says it's playing, but i hear nothing...what's the deal?

also...how do i look at what's on a data cd/disk when i put them in the drive to try and look at them in rh9?

~warheros
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 21 2003, 05:03 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Check the audio mixer to be sure the CD volume control is not set to min volume.
Do you have an audio cable between the CDROM drive and the sound card?

You need to mount the CD before you can view its contents. Either click on the desktop icon or right click and select mount or open a console window and use the command

mount /mnt/cdrom.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warheros
post Jun 21 2003, 05:08 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



well...i thought maybe it didnt detect my sound card, which i do have because i dual boot between rh9 and winxp-pro and have played cd's there, and it knows the sound card is there, even played a test sound for me. and i went somewhere about disk management and it shows my cd drives and floppy drive...checked volume, it's up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 21 2003, 05:54 PM
Post #4


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Okay, this might sound a bit odd, but i've had a bit of trouble with the whole sound stuff.

Some windows CD players can be set to process the info from the CD, takes up proc speed but mean that the CD drive sound chip isn't plugged into the sound board on your PC. I'm not saying this is the case, but one way of checkin it out is (only if your drive has this 2 out of my 3 cd drives on my tower has this) is a play button next to the eject, put in an audio CD (no autorun) and hit play. The lite'l flash, the disc will spin, if you hear music you know that there's a sound cable between your CD and moby/s'c.

You could try this by playing a CD in linux, same process as above (if it spins up the CD) and throw you spk cable into the jack socket on the drive, if it works then there prolly isn't a cable between cd and moby.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warheros
post Jun 21 2003, 06:03 PM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



i have no play button on my cdroms. also, rh9 opens the cdplayer program, and the disk spins throughout playback, but i hear no sound. the time and everything is going i just hear nothing. it is odd...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 21 2003, 06:19 PM
Post #6


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



When it's playing under linux, take the audio cable for your speakers out the back of your pc and put it in the whole on the front of the CD drive. This will let you identify the problem more accurately. If it plays then there's a problem with 2 things.

1. There's no sound cable from the back of your CD drive to your motherboard

2. There's a software problem.

Try the above suggestion for checking in windows, that will rule out 1.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warheros
post Jun 21 2003, 06:25 PM
Post #7


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



all right...and do you have an AIM s/n, it may be easier to go back and forth that way rather than waiting for a post.

my AIM s/n = warheros21
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 21 2003, 06:28 PM
Post #8


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Hiya,

No, it's a long story but I'm sat behind a lovely server capible of doing so much more but I'm extremly limited, they will only let me MSN. If you can MSN me I'll be up for a bit but it's 00:24 my time.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warheros
post Jun 21 2003, 06:29 PM
Post #9


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



ok, plugging the cable from my speakers on the sound card to the jack on the front of the cdrom works. i can hear music now. what do i do to fix it so i dont have to have that cable on the front but in the back where i want it/where it was?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 21 2003, 06:37 PM
Post #10


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Okay, theres a couple of options now we know where the problem is.

The CD drive is sending the correct info but it's getting lost somewhere.

Unless you've done some mod's to you machine since purchasing you 'should' have a cable that runs from the back on the CD drive (internal) to the motherboard sound proc(essor). Im guessing that if you don't know 100% if theres a cable that you havn't done mod's and that that's not the problem.

I'm a little bit at a loss as what to do now, because I have no idea about software available for music on linux (i'm pretty new, and i've got my own problems on my laptop) But I'm like 98% sure that it's a software problem under linux.

If you're 100% sure that the volumes are turned up on your sound mixer (and the mute buttons (if there are any mute buttons) arn't checked) and that theres no other volumes elsewhere that could cause there to be no output to the speakers, then I don't know what you can do.

If you had a spare stereo jack to jack cable, you could plug it in the jack on the CD drive and put it in the line in / mic on your soundcard. I've had to do that on my drive as I don't have enought internal inputs on my sound card. This might work if it's a software problem, but only as a botch job and it isn't solving the underlying problem. (It's like sweeping rubbish under the sofa.)

I'd sit it out here, someone else mite know what the problem is.

This is one of the reasons that i'm making a PAQ's page for this site when I come back from summer holidays!!!

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinuxHatesMe
post Jun 22 2003, 01:41 AM
Post #11


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 996



I am having the same problem. While plugging headphones into the jack built into the cd rom will allow music to be heard. Unplugging it and trying to get sound to come out my speakers is yet to work. My sound card runs through my stereo which in turn sends the sound into the speakers. While this setup works for me in win Xp and other windows os's (98se, 95) I have yet to have it work in linux. A year ago when I last messed with linux I had thought that my sound card was just not compatible, and I do believe I even found it on a list of incompatibility, with ANY linux distrobution. Since it is running directly out the jack built into the cd rom would it therefore bypass the operation of the sound card? Thus, here within is actually the problem? A non compatible sound card? Just a thought and my 2 cents to this thread. I'll continue to follow it and if I find any proof or if I come up with a fix I'll definately let everyone here know about it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warheros
post Jun 22 2003, 01:54 AM
Post #12


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



well...

i got a mp3 decoder for xmms that actually installs correctly and works, and BEHOLD! i can now listen to mp3's in linux rd9 in xmms, with all the cords plugged into the correct jacks on the back in the sound card. havent tried the cd thing yet...but then again...i dont believe i even played a cd in the cdrom in winxp pro...so yea.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinuxHatesMe
post Jun 22 2003, 01:57 AM
Post #13


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 21-June 03
Member No.: 996



mp3 decoder.. xmms... sound eh? Well I'm just trying to get ANY type of sound to work. I have yet to bring up my network computers so I can test this idea as of this moment. But I'll start work on that because it may push me towards my goal of SOUND. WOOHOO, these things you take for granite. I have ALL sounds turned off on WinXP and here I am wishing and praying that I can get some sound out my Linux box, lol. Like they say, be careful what you wish for I suppose, may not turn out how you want it to. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 22 2003, 04:13 AM
Post #14


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Well for you both then, I suggest that you just go out and buy a short jack to jack. Plug one into the 'headphone' socket on the CD drive and the other in your line in on your soundcard.

Thatway you should get the CD drive to play audio cds, short term fix that'll work.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 22 2003, 04:41 AM
Post #15


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Hay warheros,

What player did you get? And where did you get it from?

Thanks for lettin' me know in advance!

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 22 2003, 03:02 PM
Post #16


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Redhat didn't include the MP3 decoder by for xmms. I guess they are afraid of copyright infringement.

XP uses digital data extraction from the CD to play audio but linux and win98 still requires the audio cable. I thought that some digital CD player is out on linux some where but don't remember where I read it at.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 22 2003, 04:23 PM
Post #17


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Good call. I didn't know that XP uses a digital CD player as default. So i guess that there is no need to run an extra cable when you don't need it. Well, you learn something new everyday!

I'm constantly wondering why there isn't so much support for linux related to sound!

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warheros
post Jun 23 2003, 04:29 AM
Post #18


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



player? im just using the xmms player (looks like winamp)? it's in the rh9 installation cd's.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 23 2003, 05:21 AM
Post #19


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Warhereos, Try googling for a digital CD player for windows. You might have more luck that way.

What windows OS do you use?

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warheros
post Jun 23 2003, 02:39 PM
Post #20


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 991



well, it crashed, but it's windows xp pro. that's why i switched to linux rh9, i was friggin sick of windows blue screening me.

then again, i didnt really pay for xp pro...smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 05:14 AM