Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Raspberry Pi hot spot
bambinos
post Jun 17 2013, 01:52 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-May 13
Member No.: 18,267



Hi all again.
so i have reached to another problem.
what i need to do is to connect 2 wifi adapters each in a RPi and have them both connected to each other without using any other hardware as a middle man (router).
is that possible and if yes could you guide me through it.
i have searched through many forums but evedryone is using a router to do that work.
thx in advance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 17 2013, 07:02 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



To configure an open ad-hoc network between two computers can be as simple as just running the following commands. Change the IPs as necessary. Most wireless adapters can be configured in ad-hoc mode. If you want to run encryption then you will need to use WEP or WPA (recommended). Lots more info can be found by searching for ad-hoc networking.

Not all wireless adapters can be configured as an access point and setup can be a bit more difficult.

RP1
ifconfig wlan0 down
iwconfig wlan0 channel 4
iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc
iwconfig wlan0 essid 'mywireless'
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.1

RP2
ifconfig wlan0 down
iwconfig wlan0 channel 4
iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc
iwconfig wlan0 essid 'mywireless'
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bambinos
post Jul 10 2013, 06:30 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-May 13
Member No.: 18,267



hi again and thanks for your help.
i did all you wrote me and i reached again a point of no return wink.gif
first of all when i scan for the network it tells me that i am in channel 1 not 4.
second even though i can connect to it from a windows machine and a raspberry i cannot connect on it via two raspberries, which is the main theme here.
is there a command that i need to connect manually or is there any other prob that i cannot even think about it.
also, i dont know if it helps that... even i though i am connected to the network from windows i cannot see or even ping the first machine.
thx again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 11 2013, 07:13 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Well, channel really does not matter.
I have no idea what point of no return means.
Without knowing what errors your having or what is not working it is difficult to know how to help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:15 AM