Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.


Sign Up Now
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems With Hostname, problems with hostname
post Jun 3 2003, 09:11 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-June 03
Member No.: 920

I am a psedo-newbie running RH 8.?.
I have adelphia as a ISP with DNS.

Typically my hostname usually stays the same for
~ weeks to months. But then it changes. Typically
this has not been a problem. However just recently
my name changed but *somehow* the machine is
booting with an old hostname, so the printer
daemon is failing to start so when I try to print
I get:
"Get_local_host: hostname 'nh-kingston1b-288' bad ".

Furthermore, some software programs that I run (IDL)
need the proper hostname to match up with their license
If I type in ifconfig, My inet addr is
set to the correct address but that does not jive with
what my system thinks is the hostname.

I can manually set hostname to the correct name, start
all the the print and license daemons, but I don't
understand why in the boot process, hostname is not being
set correctly. What is going on?
Help! Thanks....

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jun 3 2003, 10:02 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3

Choose a hostname for yourself, say "linuxbox".

Edit the file /etc/hostname and replace what's there with "linuxbox".

Edit the file /etc/hosts and add the line (or edit one that exists) " linuxbox.localdomain linuxbox"

This should resolv "linuxbox" to your local machine no matter what your internet address is.

Corey Quilliam
(former) Administrator

Want to help out Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jun 3 2003, 10:26 AM
Post #3

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-June 03
Member No.: 920

Thanks for your reply.

I do not have a /etc/hostname file.
I am not sure if I can just create one??

I added:
to the end of my /etc/sysconfig/network file

As well as editing my /etc/hosts file.

I also had to run hostname linuxbox.
I edited my IDL license file and that seemed
to hold as well.

Things seem to be working now. I am still puzzled
why the thing suddenly changed; ie it was fine for
many months and then suddenly hostname was no longer
being set properly during boot....


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st March 2018 - 11:21 PM