Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems With Hostname, problems with hostname
almus
post Jun 3 2003, 09:11 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-June 03
Member No.: 920



Hi,
I am a psedo-newbie running RH 8.?.
I have adelphia as a ISP with DNS.


Typically my hostname usually stays the same for
~ weeks to months. But then it changes. Typically
this has not been a problem. However just recently
my name changed but *somehow* the machine is
booting with an old hostname, so the printer
daemon is failing to start so when I try to print
I get:
"Get_local_host: hostname 'nh-kingston1b-288' bad ".

Furthermore, some software programs that I run (IDL)
need the proper hostname to match up with their license
files.
If I type in ifconfig, My inet addr is
set to the correct address but that does not jive with
what my system thinks is the hostname.

I can manually set hostname to the correct name, start
all the the print and license daemons, but I don't
understand why in the boot process, hostname is not being
set correctly. What is going on?
Help! Thanks....

-Almus
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 3 2003, 10:02 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Choose a hostname for yourself, say "linuxbox".

Edit the file /etc/hostname and replace what's there with "linuxbox".

Edit the file /etc/hosts and add the line (or edit one that exists) "127.0.0.1 linuxbox.localdomain linuxbox"


This should resolv "linuxbox" to your local machine no matter what your internet address is.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
almus
post Jun 3 2003, 10:26 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-June 03
Member No.: 920



Thanks for your reply.

I do not have a /etc/hostname file.
I am not sure if I can just create one??



I added:
HOSTNAME=linuxbox
to the end of my /etc/sysconfig/network file

As well as editing my /etc/hosts file.

I also had to run hostname linuxbox.
I edited my IDL license file and that seemed
to hold as well.




Things seem to be working now. I am still puzzled
why the thing suddenly changed; ie it was fine for
many months and then suddenly hostname was no longer
being set properly during boot....

Thanks....

-Almus
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 11:18 PM