Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Error Loading Any Gui's, PCI error
Jay-Jay
post Jun 2 2003, 06:01 AM
Post #1


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Could someone please help?

When I go to load up X libscanpic.a says that my graphic's chip is on BusID PCI:00:20.0.

When I try "lspci" it says that my graphics card chip (a cirrus logic GD 7548) is on BusID 00:14.0. And this problem still occurs when it's in XF86Config-4 as the busID is 00:14.0.

Also, I can't find anywhere online that deals with the fact that my Gateway 2000 Solo 2100 has a dual head graphics card, every FX86Config-4 files that i've seen online for my machine don't appear to have taken this into account.

Warmly

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 2 2003, 11:35 AM
Post #2


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



I've done some more work to the coding and it still is having the error. The problem comes when it scans the PCI stuff. It lists all the BusID's and what they are in the log file and then for some reason it probes, and I quote from the log file . .. .

"
(--) PCI:*(0:20:0) Cirrus Logic GD7548 rev 0, Mem @ Oxfc000000/24, Oxfd000000/24

"

Then a whole lot of foo and then again, including the driver load up for the Cirrus chipset above

"
(II) Primary Device is: PCI 00:14:0
(WW) CIRRUS: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0:20:0) found
(EE) No Devices detected.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
"

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Azz
post Jun 4 2003, 06:17 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 2-June 03
Member No.: 915



well just see if simon can help u


--------------------
win 2k
red hat 9
athlon xp 1800+
512 ddr
50 gig
Geforce 4 MX 440
sound blaster live 5.1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 4 2003, 06:21 AM
Post #4


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Thanks mate, I've just sent him an e-mail. I'm really hoping someone can help me on this. It would be great to learn enough to make it my primary and then my only OS.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andrewjenkins
post Jun 5 2003, 04:58 AM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 5-June 03
Member No.: 930



It is legit to specify BusIDs in XF86Config. I have no idea if this would fix your problem, though. You could try

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVidia GeForce 2 GTS/Ti"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 65536
BusID "PCI:0:20:0" #LOOK HERE
# Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection

quoting XF86Config(5):

BusID "bus-id"
This specifies the bus location of the graphics card. For PCI/AGP cards, the bus-id string has the form PCI:bus:device:function (e.g., "PCI:1:0:0" might be appropriate for an AGP card). This field is usually optional in single-head configurations when using the primary graphics card. In multi-head configurations, or when using a secondary graphics card in a single-head configuration, this entry is mandatory. Its main purpose is to make an unambiguous connection between the device section and the hardware it is representing. This information can usually be found by running the X server with the -scanpci command line option.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 5 2003, 05:28 AM
Post #6


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Yeah, i know I can put the bus ID in the XF86Config(-4), I've done that and I still get the error whether I specify the 0:13:0 + 0:14:0 or the 0:20:0.

Using lspci says that i got graphics chip on

0:13:0; 0:14:0

using dpkg-reconfigure only puts one in, any help writing the config files needed to get this working would be great, i'm sure that's all i need to get sorted.

Sometimes crying eases the pain!

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 5 2003, 06:30 AM
Post #7


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Holy COW!

Now i'm in trouble!!!

doing a
more /proc/pci

I find that it lists my bus id as 0:20:0.

Which is remarkable odd coz lspci shows that the chip more /proc/pci is on 20 is on 0:14:0 . . .

Anyway

Now i'm getting a different Error.

"
(ww) System lacks support for chaning MTRRs.

This should not happen!
An unresolved function was called!

Fatal server error:
"

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andrewjenkins
post Jun 5 2003, 02:31 PM
Post #8


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 5-June 03
Member No.: 930



I'm not sure if this would fix the problem but MTRRs might not be enabled in your kernel. The easiest way to find out is to do "ls /proc/mtrr". If you don't get a "No Such File or Directory" then your kernel does support MTRRs. I didn't think MTRRs were a requirement for X, though. This is certainly bizarre.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jay-Jay
post Jun 5 2003, 02:33 PM
Post #9


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 2-June 03
From: London (UK)
Member No.: 914



Just to say I now know why there was an error with the BusID.

lspci gives it's results in hexidecimal
more /proc/pci gives it's results in decimal

Decimal is what you need to get things working.

As this answers this topic i'll start a new one with the next problem.

Jay-Jay


--------------------
I have a new toothbrush that had rubber prongs to massage my gums while I brush. How odd! (Query of life)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 05:47 PM